Term Limits for Legislative Leaders Introduced by Butler

State Representative Tim Butler (R-Springfield) has filed House Joint Resolution Constitutional Amendment 12 (HJRCA 12) to establish term limits on legislative leaders in the Illinois General Assembly.

Currently, three of the four legislative caucuses have instituted term limits on leaders via caucus rules: the House and Senate Republicans and the Senate Democrats. These term limits have yet to be codified in statute nor the Illinois Constitution.

“It is no secret that status quo in Illinois government has failed our state,” said Butler. “Just as gerrymandering has harmed the right of Illinoisans to be fairly represented, so too has the ability of one person to lead a legislative body in perpetuity.

“Whether it is the Speaker of the House or the Minority Leader, these positions hold an inordinate level of sway over the success or failure of legislation. Without a reasonable degree of turnover, the legislative process and the will of people is stymied.”

Through HJRCA 12, a person may serve as Speaker of the House of Representatives, President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the House, or Minority Leader of the Senate for a total of only 8 years in any one office and 12 years combined in 2 or more offices.

“This isn’t a Republican or Democrat issue, HJRCA 12 is a long overdue important step in the process of reforming Illinois government,” said Butler.

For additional information about HJRCA 12, Click Here.