Rep. Butler Bill to Streamline Sangamon County Government Passes House

Legislation authored by Representative Tim Butler (R-Springfield) to make a more effective and efficient Sangamon County Government passed the Illinois House today by a vote of 110-3.  House Bill 3521 would eliminate the office of Township Collector in Sangamon County.  

“The Township Collector office has become outdated and is duplicative of the office of County Treasurer,” said Butler.  “The Treasurer handles the same duties of collecting and disseminating property tax dollars, and in many cases, the Treasurer is currently doing the job for the Collectors.  I applaud the Citizens Efficiency Commission for identifying elimination of this position as a positive step towards more efficient, streamlined government in Sangamon County.”

The three other State Representatives from Sangamon County, Reps. Sue Scherer (D-Decatur), Sara Wojcicki Jimenez (R-Leland Grove), and C.D. Davidsmeyer (R-Jacksonville) are cosponsors of the legislation.

In November of 2016, an advisory referendum appeared on the Sangamon County ballot asking if the office of Township Collector should be eliminated.  Over 66,000 Sangamon County residents, 75% of those voting in that election, agreed that these offices should be eliminated.

Sangamon is one of only four counties that still maintain the office of Township Collector.  In 2012, the General Assembly eliminated these positions in Cook County.  In 1917, the office of Township Collector was eliminated in all Illinois counties under 100,000.

Butler’s legislation will allow Sangamon County Township Tax Collectors elected in the 2017 consolidated election to serve out their full four-year term.  The position will be eliminated county-wide on January 1, 2022 and the County Treasurer will assume all duties previously carried out by Collectors.

House Bill 3521 now advances to the Senate for further consideration.